How we are supposed to be… moving

So, here we are again! I hope you had the best holidays and wish you a great 2014.

The last few week have been really busy. So busy that I didn’t even had time to blog. Next to a lot of work in the office, I had my hands full of on moving to another house in town!

We need attention too!

We need attention too!

Most of the time I go along on Inshallah mode and only believe something will happen when I actually see it happening (Trust me, no way I run the office on that mode! 😉 ) . We found a proper house which needed to have certain things fixed but that would be done in a few days. Other than I expected, it turned out to be ready in 2 days after we went to look. So I had not only to get my mind set on moving, I also needed to get everything packed. Last Minute.

The moving went really on Jordanian style. We were looking for a different rental house for a while but didn’t find something really worth moving. The thing was that our previous house was 4 high and really cold. So cold that it was colder on the inside of my house, than it was in my fridge.

The next day we had a peleton of sisters and brothers in law coming over to help us. The women up in the house, the men down to load it in the ‘Bedouin Style’ truck. Hubby picked up boxes from the supermarkt to get things packed and me and the sisters moved everything to the front of the house. Soon the matrasses we use as couch in the ‘winterroom’ were thrown down the window, just as the blankets and other things that shouldn’t break.

And then the next thing came. Getting all the furniture down. Now, you would think it’s only down right? Yes, but then you need to go back up again to get the next load! Many times and 4 high. I was exhausted but since the people were moving our stuff, I didn’t feel comfortable leaving them without my help.

The fully loaded truck

The fully loaded truck

On the end of the day, the whole truck was filled up and on its way towards the new house. On the picture you can see it was loaded so fully, that with the first corner the truck went from left to right and I was hoping nothing would fall off. Some final stuff & all the people who helped were loaded into 3 other cars and by that time we had everything on the move.

Arriving to the new house, all was still on the truck and I was pointing out where everything needed to be. We spend all night to clean the new kitchen, putting the bed and closets back together, etc. Others took their own hand in designing our new house which made me later change some things from Arabic style to my own more practical style. Not everything was finished yet but we did it, we moved!

Our new view

Our new view

The snow

The snow

A late sunset captured from our house

A late sunset captured from our house

Only a few days after that, the snow fell down the skies. But we were happy in our new and warm house and a beautiful view over the valley, town and the mountains of Petra.

Carmen

Leave a Reply

